For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Departments Faculty of Humanities

The Faculty’s academic staff are accommodated in eight departments, each under the supervision of a Department chair and within CEDLA as a separate institute. The individual departments are responsible for the deployment of staff in education and research, implementing the HRM-policy, and managing human resources.

  • Philosophy

    The Philosophy department consists of the education groups Critical Cultural Theory, Logic and Language, Philosophical Tradition in Context and Philosophy and Public Affairs. 

    Secretariat:, T +31 (0)20 525 4511
    Postal address: P.O. Box 94201, 1090 GE Amsterdam

    Discipline website Philosophy

    Prof. dr. H.O. (Huub) Dijstelbloem

    Department chair (ad interim)

    Drs. A.J. (Agaath) Homminga

    Head of operational management

    Oude Turfmarkt 145-147

    Oude Turfmarkt 145-147
    1012 GC Amsterdam

  • Dutch Studies

    The Dutch Studies department staff conduct their research in the area of Dutch language and literature, language acquisition and command, argumentation theory and rhetorics. The academic staff of the Institute for Dutch Language Education (INTT) also belong to this department.

    Secretariat:, T +31 (0)20 525 3391
    Postal address: P.O. Box 1637, 1000 BP Amsterdam

    Discipline website Dutch

    Prof. dr. J.E. (Judith) Rispens

    Department chair

    Drs. M.A. (Marten) Hidma

    Head of operational management

    P.C. Hoofthuis

    Spuistraat 134
    1012 VB Amsterdam